Bateman’s Tower is one of the town’s best known landmarks, a folly built in 1883 by John Bateman for his daughter to recuperate from consumption.
Located beside the paddling pool, with a commanding view of the creek, the River Colne and the estuary, the tower was used as an observation post by the Royal Observer Corps during WWII. During this time the roof was removed to make the tower less conspicuous to enemy aircraft. In 2005, a restoration project restored the tower to its original condition, including the fitting of a replica of the original roof. It’s now used by the Colne Yacht Club to start races.
The tower leans slightly – and it’s a popular spot for watching the sun go down. Brightlingsea sunsets are often stunning!