Brightlingsea Lido was built in 1933 and is the only remaining outdoor Lido in Essex.
After several years of closure threats, Brightlingsea Town Council led a campaign which resulted in an asset transfer of the Lido from the district council in April 2018. The Town Council now manages the Lido in conjunction with a charitable trust
There was a fantastic community response from volunteers and local businesses, which led to a total transformation of the changing rooms, pool and surrounding area. The Lido is now accessible by wheelchair users and has a disabled changing facility. Open from May to September, the Lido is run by a mixture of paid staff and volunteers. There are full time trained lifeguards and special events throughout the summer, with a café. The five-year development plans have been boosted by the award of two significant grants. The Trust has received £46k from the Government’s Coastal Revival Fund to pay for major upgrades and refurbishment of the plant room and £16k from Essex County Council’s Community Initiative Fund, which has financed the refurbishment and extension of a small kiosk into a larger café facility with a seated area.
The Lido recently introduces online booking and is now fundraising for a cover to keep the heat in. Whatever the weather Brightlingsea Lido offers a reasonably priced family day out and also provides for early morning adult swims and exercise classes. See Facebook, Twitter and website for updates, opening and closing times, ticket prices and all the information you will need to enjoy a great day in a fantastic setting by the sea.
Opening date: May 25th 2019
Contact: [email protected]
Telephone: 01206 303067 (May – Sept)
Bateman’s Tower is one of the town’s best known landmarks, a folly built in 1883 by John Bateman for his daughter to recuperate from consumption.
Located beside the paddling pool, with a commanding view of the creek, the River Colne and the estuary, the tower was used as an observation post by the Royal Observer Corps during WWII. During this time the roof was removed to make the tower less conspicuous to enemy aircraft. In 2005, a restoration project restored the tower to its original condition, including the fitting of a replica of the original roof. It’s now used by the Colne Yacht Club to start races.
The tower leans slightly – and it’s a popular spot for watching the sun go down. Brightlingsea sunsets are often stunning!
Bequeathed to the townsfolk of Brightlingsea in 1927 by Captain Arthur Wenlock, Springmead Gardens was neglected until In 2001 members of Brightlingsea In Bloom secured funding of £78,000 to carry out the major restoration project.
Today this tranquil, one-acre oasis has matured beautifully, a sheltered dell with natural stream-fed stream and bog area planted with moisture-loving varieties including giant Gunnera. Bark paths meander around the upper shady areas. A large sunny border offers up a pot-pourri of delightful fragrances and on a secluded sunny bank, the Echiums grow to great heights. There’s a number of wood piles to provide a habitat for hedgehogs, amphibians and a wide variety of insects, while bird feeders, roosting and nesting boxes are erected around the garden.
Around the lawn are memorial seats where visitors can enjoy the many aspects of this unique garden.
Springmead Gardens is open daily except Christmas Day & New Year’s Day. From April to October: 9am to 6pm, October to March: 10am to dusk (may be closed occasionally for private functions). Admission free, no dogs (except guide dogs)